#8 on 50 Things about Korea – Karaoke (노래방)

Ref: My Name is Kim Sam Soon, episode 14.

From now on, I’ll be referring my blog entries to the drama that reminds me of the topic. Since I’ve done that in most of my entries I’ve written so far,so by telling you which drama you can relate to, I hope it helps. I’ll try to find clips too, but if I can’t find it then I hope the reference would do.

Today’s topic is Karaoke or as Koreans like to refer it to as Noraebang (노래방) – literally it means “Song Room”. This is definitely the TOP in my list of what-to-do-in Korea. Seriously. To those who are not familiar with the ‘culture’ might not see the difference between Noraebang and the usual karaoke-ing. But as an avid Korean drama fan, I’ve grown to adapt to this passion most (if not all) Koreans have about singing in Noraebang. And mind you, they don’t just sing in Noraebang. Lol.

There are like sort of the ‘unwritten rules’ when you go to a Noraebang. A trot song is a must. And you’ll sing while dancing like a retard (lol). And of course, there’s the maracas and tambourine to accompany your ‘performance’. Hehehe. I came to a conclusion that Koreans love singing. I should too?? Hehe.

Anyway, almost all k-dramas featured a scene in Noraebang, but the ultimate one for me is definitely in My Name is Kim Sam Soon. I’d laugh like crazy every time I watch this scene. Rotfl. Need I say more? Watch this part, and pay extra attention towards the last 3 minutes. Hehe.

-video credit to JLINK27

2 thoughts on “#8 on 50 Things about Korea – Karaoke (노래방)

Leave a Reply

