Seoul Backpacking – Places (Part II)

Hello, everyone.

Phewwwww…this is my third write up for our Seoul-Busan backpacking trip. So far so good, at least I’m doing this on a daily basis and while my mind is still fresh from the memories in South Korea.

As I’m writing this, I can’t help but to feel a bit ‘homesick’. LOL. Yeah, Korea had been my “home” for one week and I miss it dearly. Whenever Koreans asked me why I choose to travel to Korea, I always say it’s because of their culture,language,food and lifestyle that kept me coming back. And no, in my case it’s not entirely because of Kpop anymore.

So, shall we continue with some more interesting places to visit in Seoul? But to be honest I don’t really go to enough places to actually be sharing with all of you reading this. As I wrote before, me and my friends went our separate ways on our third day in Seoul so from then on, me and Shambie really spent our time in Seoul rather leisurely. Hehe. Anyway, I’ll try my best to write more.🙂

Bukchon Hanok Village, Jong-no

This was actually the first place we went in our itinerary. Inspired by Kim Jongmin in the “Exploring Jong-no” episode in KBS variety show 1 Night 2 Days (1박 2일), we head out early to take the subway to Anguk (Line 3, Exit 3). Getting to Bukchon is not hard, but finding all EIGHT spots here is totally a different story. Though I must say we were a bit organized than Kim Jongmin in terms of finding those photo spots. LOL.

Clockwise - Erenah, Bahie, Shambie, Fizzy

If you plan to come here, please look for the tourist information counter and get the map. Most of the time there won’t be anyone in the counter, so make yourself at home. Hehe. Pick one map and plan your quest to look for all the photo spots. Thankfully we have Bahie in our group who was superb in reading the map, something which I am really not good at.

We came across a group of school students doing the same thing as us and they were so loud. It was totally understandable because they were with friends and I know I would be even louder if I were them. To see them having fun doing the task, made me smile (and miss my school friends too).

There was a kind ahjumma who speak really good English greeted us and asked us where we were from. Korean people seems to be liking Malaysia for I don’t know what reason, but that made me happy. She offered us to take photos of a Hanok (Korean traditional house), which we happily accepted. At the same time, there was a group of production crews from SBS setting up the cameras and jimmy jib at the Hanok, perhaps doing a filming later in that place. Not wanting to interfere with their job, we finished snapping photos quickly.

Bie + Erenah goofing at Hanok

As we were looking for all those photo spots, we bumped into one Korean boy, who’s shy but very generous with his smile. After bumping into each other a few times, we asked him to join us instead and he gladly accepted out invitation. We exchaged short greetings and got to know that he’s a student of Hongik University, just 20 years of age. Ahhhh, I wish I was that young!

With our limited knowledge in languages, (Hangugo for us, English for him), we managed to communicate well I think along the quest to look for the spots. We even cracked jokes (though it still amazed me how we were able to do that) and shared music (he asked us who do we like, and I said CNBLUE, so he quickly played “Intuition” for me). Awwww, our sweet Seon Gyu.

Bahie - Seon Gyu - Erenah - Shambie

Having him around made us slightly forget the aching feet and calves and it’s cute how he had to always turn to his mobile dictionary to convey something to us. LOL. I’m so gonna miss him.

If you ask me, yes Bukchon Hanok Village is recommended. Especially if you love the traditional architectures and love taking photos. Though I don’t really think you need to find ALL 8 spots because some actually looked the same. But for satisfaction, yes you should find all. Mind you please wear super comfortable shoes here, because the place is very “hilly”. And bring water!

Oh, and don’t worry if you ever got lost here. There are tour guides stationed by Korean Tourism Organization to help you with the photo spots. They are wearing red shirt, with KTO logo, you won’t miss them. In fact, they are everywhere, I mean at tourist spots like Myeongdong, Namdaemun, Dongdaemun, Insadong et cetera.

You can also find some galleries in this area. Make time to go into some of them, just to see their crafts and everything. It’s refreshing.

20110616-015900.jpg

Still not open when we arrived

Just before the last photo spot.

Insadong

Seon Gyu, being a sweet guys that he is, offered to show us to Insadong. So we walked together with him until we reached the place. It’s lunch time when we arrived in Insadong and as I had been here once last year, I tried to look for the place to have our lunch.

20110616-020637.jpg

Insadong..

Insadong, is very different from Seoul. Here you will find lots of cute cafes, and shops selling hand made dresses, shoes et cetera. Mind you these hand made goods cost a fortune as they are all well, HAND MADE. Also, local brands are more expensive than those brands we are familiar with. So don’t be surprised if you see dresses made in Korea are more expensive than ZARA or others.

Insadong is also a place where you can see many Korean crafts are being made. When we were there, we managed to see Korean women making colorful cloths from natural dyes (flowers). I’ve seen the documentary about this once but nothing beats seeing with your own eyes.

LOL I forgot to rotate!

After much circling around the area, and through the small alleys, we finally found the same place where I had my lunch last year. The restaurant served a yummy baked mackerel and it costs us 20,000 won (5,000 won each, we took 2 mackerels) for the superbly-fulfilling lunch. As you know Korean dish is always served with lots of side dishes (banchan), and they are all refill-able. So if you ever finished your kimchi, or any other banchan, ask for a refill.🙂

20110616-020711.jpg

We had our lunch at this restaurant in Insadong

Yummy lunch, minus Seon Gyu. T__T

Too bad when we ere having lunch, Seon Gyu sat outside waiting for us. We only knew at that time that he was a Judo athlete and that he only eats chicken breast. *face palm* Imagine how guilty we felt at that time because we intended to buy him lunch after all the help he gave us but we could not. And he was again, so sweet, waiting patiently for us to finish lunch.

After walking around the place a bit, we said goodbye to Seon Gyu because he had a class to attend at 2.30 pm. We promised to meet him again next day in Hongdae and he said he would show us around.

The Ever Sweet Seon Gyu

{ Hongdae-Namsan Tower-Apgujeong }
-coming soon in part III-

8 thoughts on “Seoul Backpacking – Places (Part II)

  1. what a sweet guy~~and cute~ =)
    after read part 1 and 2..I think food is not a problem in korean..
    if we know what can’t we eat.. there’s no problem at all..
    thanks again kak fizz…

  2. kak fizz…ehermmm..now I know why people in korea slim2 =.=”
    plus everyday climb up hill…think leg boleh jadi SNSD nya leg kut😄

  3. hahaha~kak fizz..jom kita move sana..
    lepas slim like snsd kita balik malaysia~
    think kan..kita slim bukan climb up hill kut tapi kebuluran..
    and pasti our skin jd snow white x?😄 kkkkk

  4. Thanks for the interesting write up about Korea! Am visiting in August! So excited!!!!!!😀

    And Seon Gyu do looks very cute😛 Is he actually a student tour guide? Hmm I would love to meet him so it might be great if you’re able to let me know how can i contact him!

    Hope to hear from you soon! Thanks! ^_^

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

